Overseas Site Vistor or live outside Goostrey?

Support your village, support Rose Day

Please click on the icon.

Rose Queen Elect 2017

Abigail Burgess

Support your village, support Rose Day

Click on picture to see Abigail and her attendants

Stop scroller

Latest News ..

Support your village, support Rose Day

See us on Facebook

Children's Registration for Roseday 2017

For details see the News Page

2017 Rose queens selected Click link for more details.

Want to run your own stall in 2017 Rosday? Fancy a business opportunity?

Fancy helping to keep Goostrey Rose festival alive, contact us through the website.

Sunday Morning

watercolour images
by John Baxter, Goostrey's resident artist. See the 'Paintings' page.

Please visit our page which is a vehicle for general chat, feedback or pictures relating to Goostrey Rose Festival or associated functions. We would appreciate you clicking on the 'LIKE' button on our Facebook page.

Rose Queen 2016

Charlotte Harvey

Support your village, support Rose Day


Summer showers failed to dampen the bumper crowds that were attracted to Goostrey Rose Festival on Saturday where 13 year old Charlotte Harvey was crowned queen.

Despite the unpredictable weather, large crowds lined Main Road as almost 200 children joined the procession, which was made up of a series of floats and walking groups led by a steam traction engine driven by Terry and Des Bostock.

Charlotte, who was crowned in front of last year's queen Ellie Davies, was accompanied by her four attendants: Abigail Crooke; Abbie Groves; Hazel Kemsley and Jessica McCandless.

The Rose Bud Queen was Georgia Davies and her lady in waiting was Heidi Wilkinson. There were three attendants: Martha Bairstow; Lucy Boardman and Elliana Nasry.

This year's Rose Day President was Terry Price who has had a life-long connection with the Festival, first appearing in the procession when he was just four years old. For the past 12 years he has been on the Goostrey Gooseberry Society Float.

His mother May Price, nee Newton was Rose Queen in 1927 and Terry was crown bearer in 1959 when Annette Smallwood was crowned Queen.

Two nonagenarians also shared the limelight. 94-year-old Elsie Maddock, who was Rose Queen 82 years ago in 1934 and Margaret Kettle, 92, who was Rose Queen in 1936 and who took part in this year's procession as a GI bride on the winning Willy's Vintage Jeep.

Following the success of last year's Gold and Silver Queens, the Rose Queens from 50 and 25 years ago took part in this year's event.

Fifty years ago the Rose Queen was Barbara Blain (now Taylor) and in 1991 the star of the show was Angela Turnock (now Lovatt). The Crown Bearer from 1966 Ian Burgess also took part in this year's procession.

The crowds were entertained by both the Alderley District Scout Band and the Knottingley Silver Band and the Waters Green Morris Dancers took part in the procession as well as performing.

One of the highlights of the afternoon was the Maypole dancing performed by Year 2 pupils from Goostrey School who have been practising under the guidance of Gill Grey, Tom Isherwood and Melissa Bairstow

Instead of an outside entertainer, a tug of war competition between village teams, which was eventually won by Ashbrook Team, kept the crowd engaged when they were not visiting the numerous stalls and other attractions which included a cave bus, mini-golf, tombola, coconut shy, and test your strength.

For the first time this year the MC was Shirley Lewis who kept the crowds fully informed as to what was going on.

Despite the weather, villagers turned out in large numbers to support the fantastic floats and walking groups, and I must pay tribute to all the parents who put so much time and effort into decorating the trailers and banners.

"The day was a great success but it would not be possible without all the hard work put in by the committee and countless other volunteers."

The Jon Lee Cup for the best decorated children's float went to Under the Sea. Children of the World won the best decorated banner and the best community float went to Willy's Vintage Jeep. The Best visiting Queen's car went to Lower Withington.

The Rose Festival Bowl, awarded for the best single Rose of any variety, exhibited in a container of the competitors own choice, was won by Matthew Wilson.

The Luke Brothers Trophy, for the three Roses of one or more varieties, went to Victoria Howarth.

The Chairman's Vase, awarded for an arrangement of garden flowers, was won by Lyn Deakin and the Hodgson Cup, for a table arrangement including at least one rose, was won by Patricia Booth.

The Edward Simpson Cup, for the best flower arrangement of garden flowers in a jam jar by a child under eight, went to Maisie Banks and the Jim Schofield Memorial Cup for the best garden flowers in a jam jar by a child aged 8-11 went to Katie Hicks.

The children's competition of a vegetable crown was won by Cedric Landua in the Under 8's category and the 8- 11 class was by taken by Peter Kemsley and the 12-16 year old class was awarded to Heather Padley.

During the afternoon the name of the Big Bear Mascot which will reside in the new Scout Hut and Youth Centre was drawn and the name will be Ted.

The day was rounded off by a Ceilidh in the marquee on the school field which was attended by more than 120 revellers and led by the Moody Food Band.

On Sunday a special service was held at St Luke's Church where the children were encouraged to attend wearing their Rose Day costumes.

Best Wishes

Christina Burgess